The Kilsyth Cobras VYC Men’s and Women’s teams have been announced for the 2019 Big-V season.


Returning for her second season at the helm, Claire Knight takes aim at a second consecutive playoff berth for the Cobra Women, who advanced to the postseason for the first time following a five-year drought in 2018. They’ll be led by team MVP Sarah Haberfield and leading scorers Grace Moxey and Miranda Gartner, while Erin Burgoyne, Lauren Bird and a healthy Maddie Taranto will look to build on promising 2018 campaigns. Chloe Anderson, Nikita Young, Isabella Clark, Caitlyn Groves, Chloe Goring, Caitlyn Shannon and Alannah Anderson round out coach Knight’s roster, which will look to improve on last season’s 12-10 regular season record.


The Cobra Men will look to return to the VYC postseason for the third consecutive season after matching the Women’s 12-10 record in 2018. Headlining coach Mark Landells’ group in 2019 is the league’s reigning scoring champion and All-VYC point guard, Mitch Dielemans. Matt Dwyer, Roberto La Morticella, Hamish MacDonald and Tony Marchese – all members of the Cobras title-winning team from 2017 – are set to return, providing the Cobras with valuable championship experience, while Nick Feller looks poised to build on a strong 2018 rookie campaign. Second year guards Mitch Jackson and Dyson Sumsion round out the list of returners, while Ben Bara, Luke Rosendale and Josh Tomasi will each make their VYC debuts with the Cobras this season.


The Cobra Women and Men tip-off their 2019 VYC regular season on Saturday night at home, when they take on Sandringham at 5.30pm and 7.30pm, respectively. Entry for all 2019 VYC regular season home games is FREE!


VYC Women’s Roster:

Erin Burgoyne, Lauren Bird, Madalene Taranto, Sarah Haberfield, Chloe Anderson, Isabella Clark, Caitlyn Groves, Grace Moxey, Miranda Gartner, Chloe Goring, Alannah Anderson, Caitlyn Shannon, Nikita Young

Head Coach: Claire Knight Assistant Coaches: Michael Walsh, Erica McMenamin Team Manager: Tracey Bird


VYC Men’s Roster:

Mitchell Dielemans, Matthew Dwyer, Luke Rosendale, Hamish MacDonald, Josh Tomasi, Roberto La Morticella, Mitchell Jackson, Dyson Sumsion, Nick Feller, Ben Bara, Tony Marchese

Squad Members:

Jamie Ahale, Lachlan Vandervorm, Ben Adams, Liam Evans, Ben Ahale, Roosevelt Williams, David Okwera, Riley Spicer, Mitchell Douglas

Head Coach: Mark Landells  Assistant Coach: Gavin Meager  Development Coach: Jesse Noyes  Team Manager: Jacqui Rosendale