The 2012 Kilsyth Cobra Senior Presentation evening was held last night at Club Kilsyth with over 180 in attendance, including Shire of Yarra Ranges Wailing Ward Councillor Cr. Len Cox, Anthony Marinucci Sporting Clubs Coordinator from Coca Cola, Matt Shepherd owner / operator of Assist PT, Stuart Greig board member of East Ringwood and Heathmont Bendigo Bank and Jane Bartley Marketing & communications Manager from principal partner Swinburne University.

The night was officially opened by Kilsyth Basketball General Manager Grant Wallace who recapped on a successful year thus far in 2012 before the awards ceremony got under way.

The Under 18.1/2 Boys and Girls and the Under 20 Boys Phil Mundays Junior Kilsyth Cobras were first up to receive their Awards, with a special mention to the Under 20 Boys who are in action this Friday night in VJBL Victorian Championship finals.

The Club Ringwood Lady Cobras had one of the youngest teams in the Basketball Victoria D-League in 2012 and will view the 2012 Season as a huge learning curve that all the girls can only improve on.  Kate Caulfield and Jenna Verhoef-Jenkins tied for the MVP Award; Kate averaged 11.3 points, 3.2 rebounds and 3.5 assists per game while Jenna averaged 10.6 points, 4 rebounds and 2.2 assists per game in Season 2012, while Zoe Scanlon was awarded the Coaches Award.

The Club Kilsyth Cobras finished the Season falling just short of a Grand Final berth going down to Dandenong in the semi-finals. Kyle Adnam was named MVP after averaging 12.8 points, 3.2 rebounds and 3.5 assists per game and Michael Knoll was awarded the Coaches Award to go with his U20 Boys Coaches Award and the Swinburne Community Engagement Award.

The Swinburne Kilsyth Lady Cobras wounds were still raw after falling short of the South Conference title two weeks ago, going down to the Knox Raiders. Head Coach Peter Gay commended the efforts of the team throughout the season and knows that the pain of disappointment will only spur them on to better things in Season 2013. Sarah Parson’s was named MVP after averaging 10.3 points, 8.2 rebounds, 4.4 assists and 2.8 steals per game, Chantella Perera and Jordyn O’Shea shared the Coaches Award.

The Swinburne Kilsyth Cobras just missed out on playing in playoffs of the 2012 SEABL season, finishing equal second and then sixth in the South Conference on head to head results. After a form slump mid-season, the Swinburne Cobras had to step up their game if they were any chance to be playing in the post season.  After the Queen’s Birthday weekend bye, the Swinburne Kilsyth Cobras went on a barnstorming run finishing the second half of their season 10-2 and putting them right in the mix for playoffs berth. Unfortunately it just wasn’t to be!

Auryn Macmillan capped of what has been a milestone year signing with the Wollongong Hawks for his first Season in the NBL winning the Burns Wheeler Award after a season where he averaged 13.2 points, 5.6 rebounds and 3.2 assists per game; Cameron Johnson was awarded the Coach’s award.

Kilsyth Basketball would like to give a special thanks to Clare Wilcock, Haydn Smith and Matt Hastas for their great work in ensuring that the night was such a success. We now look forward to a bigger and better 2013; please see below for the full list of Awards given out on the night. 

2012 Senior Awards

18-2 Girls
MVP:                                            Caitlin Bingley
Coaches Award:                             Kristy Grant

18-2 Boys
MVP:                                            Tim Winstanley / Jayden Haberfield
Coaches Award:                             Jed Wilson

18-1 Girls
Coaches Award:                             Stephanie Cuskelly / Zoe Scanlon

18-1 Boys
MVP:                                             Adrian Tomada
Coaches Award:                             Daniel Cole

20 Boys
MVP:                                            Daniel Jensen / Corey Jeffs      
Coaches Award:                            Michael Knoll
Development League Women
MVP:                                            Kate Caulfield / Jenna Verhoef-Jenkins
Coaches Award:                             Zoe Scanlon

Development League Men
MVP:                                             Kyle Adnam
Coaches Award:                             Michael Knoll

MVP:                                             Sarah Parsons
Coaches Award:                              Chantella Perera / Jordyn O’Shea

MVP – Burns Wheeler Award:         Auryn Macmillan                                
Coaches Award:                             Cam Johnson

Swinburne Community Engagement Award
Michael Knoll

Long Service Awards
Anthony Mazella
Jackson Brazier
Regan Grimwood
Kyle Adnam
Stephanie Cuskelly
Meg Thorneycroft
Zoe Scanlon
Elise Dykes
Riley Mulhall
Zoe Cuskelly
Kodie Kroussaratis

Milestone Awards
Matt O’Hea         250 SEABL Games
Gemma Kerr       250 SEABL Games
Sarah Parsons    200 SEABL Games
Chelsea Burns    200 SEABL Games
Brooke Nisi        100 SEABL Games

Representative Awards
Jayden Walsh     U20 Victorian State Team Player
Grant Wallace     U20 Victorian State Team Coach
Adrian Tomada    U18 3X3 Victorian State Team Player 

Again huge congratulations to all the players, Award winners and their families on what has been a successful 2012 campaign.