The Women’s National Basketball League (WNBL) is pleased to announce the selection of its All-Star Five for the 2009/10 season.

The All-Star Five members were presented at halftime of yesterday’s Grand Final at The Cage, Melbourne.

The All-Star Five is determined by a poll of the head coaches, assistant coaches and team captains from all WNBL teams at the completion of the regular season and aims to recognise athletes for their on-court achievements.

Coaches and Captains are not permitted to vote for members of their own teams.

2009/10 All-Star Five:

Kristi Harrower
Jenna O’Hea
Deanna Smith
Elizabeth Cambage
Suzy Batkovic-Brown

Deanna Smith – ACUVUE Sydney Uni Flames

Smith settled into her new role with the Flames after signing with the Sydney-based club following a season with the Perth Lynx.

Despite having to adjust to a new club, Smith went on to average 16.6 points, 5.8 rebounds, 3.8 assists and 1.3 steals per game in the regular season.

Her 16.6 points per game was the fifth best average in the league and Smith was one of the league’s best players in another six statistical categories; foul shot percentage (2nd with 84.3%), 3-point percentage (2nd with 40.5%), field goal percentage (4th with 50%), offensive rebounds (5th with 3 per game), assists (9th), and steals (10th).

Smith scored in double figures in 18 of 22 regular season games and was named Player of the Week in Rounds 11 and 16.

This accolade is the second All-Star selection for Smith after she was also named in the All-Star Five in the 2008/09 season.

For the entire story visit