Courtesy: Basketball Australia

Basketball Australia is pleased to announce the athletes named in Australia’s U19 Men’s team, the Emus, to compete in the 25th Albert Schweitzer Tournament to be held in Mannheim, Germany (3 – 10 April, 2010).

The 12-strong team was selected following a four-day camp at the Australian Institute of Sport last week.

Australia’s U19 Men’s Team for 2010 Albert Schweitzer Tournament:

Jackson Aldridge       Norths, NSW / AIS
Jordan Barry            Illawarra, NSW
Mitchell Creek          Horsham, Vic / AIS
Anthony Drmic         Dandenong, Vic / AIS
John Fenton            Bathurst, NSW / AIS
Hugh Greenwood      Grenadiers, Hobart TAS/ AIS
Igor Hadziomerovic   Melbourne, Vic / AIS
Jackson Hussey       Willeton, WA / AIS
William Sinclair         Kilsyth, Vic 
Lewis Thomas          Stirling, WA / AIS
Daniel Trist              Norths, NSW
Corban Wroe            Brisbane, Qld / AIS

Head Coach:            Damian Cotter
Assistant Coach:       Paul Goriss
Manager:                Bob McGugan
Physiothapist:          Peter Suffolk       

Sixteeen countries have been invited to the tournament with the Emus having been drawn against Israel and traditional European basketball powerhouses Greece and Spain in their preliminary round games.

Head Coach Damian Cotter is looking forward to the team playing in a challenging tournament against top European countries as well as teams from other zones. The tournament will provide an excellent opportunity to compete against a variety of international styles.

The coaching staff also commented that these tours provide the group with invaluable experience in tournament play combined with the rigors of international travel.

Australia has a good history in the tournament; at the 2008 tournament the Emus defeated the USA in the final to win the bronze medal.

The Emus will depart Australia on Saturday 27 March.  The team will play three lead up games before the tournament commences on April 3.

Albert Schweitzer Tournament:

Group A:       China; Italy; New Zealand; Germany U17
Group B:       Brasil; Japan; Turkey; Germany
Group C:       Argentina; Croatia; France; USA
Group D:       Spain; Israel; Greece; Australia