The SEABL awards dinner was held last Saturday, and the Swinburne Kilsyth Cobras walked away with five awards to their name for the 2012 Godfreys SEABL Season.

Swinburne Cobras forward, Auryn Macmillan, walked away with the “People’s Choice Award” and Sarah Parsons earned herself the “Golden Hands” award. Swinburne Lady Cobras Captain, Chantella Perera, was selected in the SEABL team of the year, while her coach Peter Gay was announced Coach of the Year. The Swinburne Kilsyth Cobras were all announced as the 2012 SEABL Club of the Year.

The SEABL People’s Choice Award was a social media award that was decided on by the fans through voting on the SEABL Facebook page.  Weekly winners were chosen over the regular season, with 15 men and 15 women then placed in a separate seeded knockout tournament. Swinburne Kilsyth Cobras forward, Auryn Macmillan took out the award on Saturday night, when the fans voted for him over Ballarat Miners player Tim Coenraad, with over 1,000 votes cast between the two.

Sarah Parsons sound ball handling and defensive skills were again recognised after she was crowned the “Golden Hands” award winner for the fourth time in her career. The Golden Hands award is determined by adding Assists and Steals, then subtracting the turnovers to give a total, which is then averaged per game. Parsons finished the season with an average of 4.36, beating Dandenong’s Faith Probst who finished with an average of 4.00.

After an outstanding season, Swinburne Lady Cobras Captain, Chantella Perera, was named in the 2012 SEABL Women All Star Team Perera finished the season averaging 17.9 points, 5.4 rebounds and 3.6 assists a game, and led her team on an 11-game win streak mid-season.

In his first season as Head Coach, Peter Gay was bestowed with the SEABL “Coach of the Year” award. Gay and his Swinburne Lady Cobras exceeded the expectations of the competition, finishing second in the South Conference with a 20-6 win/loss record and coaching his team through to host the South Conference Grand Final.

The night closed with the Swinburne Kilsyth Cobras being awarded the “SEABL Club of the Year” award for 2012. The Club of the Year award is given to the SEABL club that has best met the criteria over the past 12 months. This criterion covers not just the on-court performance of the teams, but also aspects such as game-night presentation, administration competency, marketing and promotion, and financial compliance, and is one of the most coveted SEABL awards. This is the second time the club has earned this award, with the first being time five years ago, back in 2007.

Kilsyth Basketball proudly congratulates all of its winners from the 2012 SEABL Awards Night and looks forward to making an even bigger mark in 2013!