The reigning champion VYC Cobra Men have finalised their roster for the 2018 Big-V season.


Headlining the list of returners are the trio of Jorden Adnam, Mitch Dielemans and Jamie Ahale. Adnam – the reigning Finals MVP – and Dielemans were both named to the league’s All-VYC team in 2017, while the sharpshooting Ahale will re-join the group at the conclusion of his freshman season at Mineral Area College in Missouri, USA.


Also returning to the Cobras back court are guards Will MacRae, Jamie Gartner and Brad Heywood, while Matt Dwyer, Roberto La Morticella and Liam Evans (Saginaw Valley State University) are back to anchor coach Mark Landells’ front court. Mitch Jackson and Nick Feller will round out Landells’ team, while Ben Adams, Hamish MacDonald, Tony Marchese, Ben Ahale and Dyson Sumsion will serve as development players in 2018.


Adnam, Dielemans, Ahale, Dwyer and Evans will also serve as development players for the SEABL Men’s team, ensuring that the pathway from Junior Cobras through to the SEABL program remains strong.


With eleven members from last year’s squad set to return for the season ahead, the Cobra men are well positioned to take aim at their second consecutive state title. The VYC Men won the 2017 state championship in thrilling fashion, coming from behind to defeat Nunawading in the deciding Game 3 at home in front of 1200 screaming fans.


The defending champs will make their home debut against Blackburn on Saturday March 17, with tip-off scheduled for 8.00pm.


VYC Men’s Roster

Jordan Adnam

Jamie Ahale

Mitch Dielemans

Matthew Dwyer

Liam Evans

Nick Feller

Jamie Gartner

Brad Heywood

Mitch Jackson

Roberto La Morticella

Will MacRae


Development Players

Ben Adams

Ben Ahale

Tony Marchese

Hamish MacDonald

Dyson Sumsion



Head Coach: Mark Landells

Assistant Coach: Gavin Meager, Brett Adams

Team Manager: Pam Jones